Frankland String Quartet

St. Andrew’s Church, Berwick-upon-Tweed

October 22, 1.30 – 2.30 pm

Frankland String Quartet


James Weeks
weatherworld for String Quartet (world premiere)

Janet Graham
Earth Shout (world premiere)

Antonín Dvořák
String Quartet no 12 in F minor op 96 (American Quartet)

Formed in 2017, the Frankland Quartet’s musical identity is embedded in the North East of England. Long-time colleagues in Royal Northern Sinfonia, the region’s professional chamber orchestra, all four of its members base their careers in the North East, and a deep commitment to the cultural life of the area lies at the heart of the Quartet’s work, inspired by its landscape, its history and communities. 

The Frankland Quartet’s music-making is dedicated to an equal marriage of past and present, and a desire to look beyond the standard repertoire, championing composers from outside the traditional canon. They are also committed to the voices of the North East, and work regularly with the region’s leading composers.