Fiona Winning (solo Viola)

St. Andrew’s Church, Berwick-upon-Tweed

October 7, 1.00 – 2.00 pm


Robert Fokkens Étude
J S Bach Cello Suite No. 2 in D minor BWV 1008 (transcribed for viola)
Michael Worboys Promising Flight (with vocalist Margaret Rowland)
Sally Beamish That Recent Earth
Lucy Freia Kutidhieng (BMS Open Competition winner)
… plus a selection from György Kurtág Games Signs and Messages

Scottish violist Fiona Winning was until 2014 Principal Viola of the Royal Philharmonic Orchestra and before that the Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra. During her years in London, she was a regular guest principal of the Philharmonia and London Philharmonic Orchestras, including four seasons at Glyndebourne Opera. She is also a regular guest principal viola of the Aurora Orchestra, London Sinfonietta and Scottish Chamber Orchestra. For seven years she was a member of the Scottish Ensemble with whom she performed at the Wigmore Hall, BBC Proms, and at the Edinburgh International, Aldeburgh and City of London Festivals, and broadcast regularly on Radio 3. Fiona plays on an Antonio Gragnani viola from 1780 for which she gratefully acknowledges support from the Countess of Munster Musical Trust and the Loan Fund for Musical Instruments.

This year, the centrepiece of her programme will be Bach’s second cello suite, transcribed for viola. She will also perform the winning piece from this year’s BMS International Composition Competition.